NIGGYDIP: TRIBUTE TO THE GOAT of GAMBIA

Niggy what?..Niggydip...forever in our hearts.
Niggy what?..Niggydip…forever in our hearts.

Death is a horizon and a horizon is nothing but the limit of our sight. The diminished presence and loss of Oladipupo Egbedeyi aka Niggydip aka Omogidi aka The Goat of Gambia is in us, not in him. As we mourn, there are angels on the other side watching and their voices taking up a glad shout ‘there he comes!’ Recently engaged to Miss Seye, #Niggydip was jogging (moving forward in life) when death came…the irony is, he was my inspiration when I begun jogging. For me, it is a bittersweet feeling to know he died doing one of the things he loved. I once lived with Dipo in UNILAG, at Ozolua, and in those mornings we were usually semi-awoken by the tune of Chiddy Bang’s ‘Get Up In The Morning’ as early as 5am, as #Niggydip got dressed for work. I was not the closest to #Niggydip, the elder brother to my friend Dayo, but in our own unique way we shared a brother like bond. I shared my audacious ideas with him, always trying to get him to invest in them and he always listened patiently with a discerning mind. He never invested, but never did he shoot me down either, he encouraged me rather with constructive advice and when I begun writing during my extra year in 2013, the positive words he told me helped me find purpose in a dark period. I guess that’s what set him apart from others: he found a way to connect with everyone. Driven, generous and energetic, #Niggydip was to us (Engineering class of 2012) in our undergraduate years a vital influence academically, but most especially, through his lifestyle he reminded us not to settle for less or mediocrity, but to always have an enterprising ‘can do’ spirit and a cheerful heart. The way he got the job at Oando is a testimonial to the ideals #Niggydip lived and died by: he was visiting a friend, stumbled on a job interview, found courage to take the chance and he got the job. His colleagues at Oando say he ‘bossed the job’.

#Niggydip no longer belongs with us today; he now belongs with the ages. Testimonies of his good deeds will remain evergreen in our memories. He would be missed sorely by everyone who was impacted by his life, hustle (NYSC consultant) and work ethics. Even more so he would be missed by all who never had a chance to meet him during his short, purposeful dash here on earth. Yemi, Dayo’s roommate along with #Niggydip sometimes and me at other times, said in his tribute “Dipo was running so fast and heading so far in life.” It is for this reason that everyone who knew him intimately and from afar celebrates his life and wishes his destiny permitted him to be with us much longer. The Goat of Gambia has flown to eternity, but forever he’ll remain in our hearts as we talk about his life, the stunts he pulled, the people he helped, the memories he left, sometimes it’ll make us smile, sometimes sad and sometimes, hot tears may flush our eyes, but we should remind ourselves that some birds aren’t meant to be caged; their feathers are just too bright. And when they flyaway the part of us that knows it was a sin to keep #Omogidi’s shining halo trapped in this world rejoices but still, the place we live in is so much more colorless and empty now that he’s gone to bless heaven with his light-hearted presence. We’ll miss our friend, Seye, #Niggydip’s lover, will miss her fiancée and I’ll miss my mentor, but the Egbedeyi’s have lost their son, brother, blood and “the pride of their clan” as his elder brother Funsho aka Dr. Praz, said. In times like this, we can only ask God to grant us the serenity to accept the things we cannot change and essentially, we pray the Egbedeyi’s find courage to press forward being reminded that “this corruptible must put on incorruption, and when this mortal shall have put on immortality, then shall be brought to pass the saying that is written, Death is swallowed up in Victory.” (1 Cor. 15: 53-54)…immortal Niggydip lives on, forever in our hearts!

In esteemed memory of Oladipupo Samson Egbedeyi 1985 – 2015.

His burial takes place on 27 October at Ikoyi Vaults and Gardens by 10am

For all who loved him, was impacted by him  and wished they met him #Leaveacomment4Niggydip here on his online registry in the comment zone…till we meet to part no more.. Sun re o (RIP)…Omo gidi of Lagos, Nigeria.

13 thoughts on “NIGGYDIP: TRIBUTE TO THE GOAT of GAMBIA

  1. Dipo was my junior in Ijebu-Ode Grammar School (JOGS). He was the Bell and Light Prefect at JS3. A very admirable fellow. We lost touch only to hear of his death in the alumni forum. RIP Dipo. Abiodun

    Like

  2. Woke up to Dipo Odu’s scream and I was like wetin happen. The reply I got from him was so shocking and I still can’t believe it. I remember how we competed academically back in secondary school before you changed school, your a fighter and I am certain you are in a better place as you won’t settle for nothing less. I was hoping to re unite with you soon and laugh about how I almost drove you crazy because you want the 1st position. Rest in the bossom of our dear Lord my friend. We all will miss you! Till we meet again, farewell. May the good Lord be with your family and comfort them. Up Jogs.

    Like

  3. I don’t know him. But I know his siblings Keji and Dayo as well as their older brother. Here I am shedding tears for a precious soul as described by his loved ones. May God grant us the strength to understand the things we cannot change.

    Like

  4. I never met him in person but one would think we were really close friends. Very funny and free spirited. He was still teasing me on Monday morning to find husband and marry, and i said he shouldn’t waste my credit on nonsense talk. If only i had known that would be the last time I’d hard speak to him. It’s still hard to accept but I know he’s in a better place. The stories I’ve seen about Dipo definitely makes me want to be a better person. May God give his family and fiancee the strength to bear this immeasurable loss. Rest in Peace Friend. 😢

    Like

  5. I never met Niggydip. but I’ve read so many amazing things about him since he died, and it feels like I knew him. I wish I really did though…he’s indeed a gem. rest in the bosom of the Lord niggydip…

    Like

  6. Life Life Life! death came calling on one counted as treasure. Indeed, death stings and it hurts. I was never opportuned to know Dipo but the fervour with which his brother, Dayo called for prayers so he could live again made me realise Dipo was surely a gem.
    I had hoped and believed that we will witness the miracle but I’m comforted that he’s gone to sleep because good people pass away; the godly often die before their time but no one seems to care or wonder why. No one seems to understand that God is protecting them from the evil to come. For those who follow godly paths will rest in peace when they die.
    May the Almighty God comfort every heart grieving at this time. May He minister His peace that passes all understanding.
    Good night Dipo.

    Like

  7. to a guy i never met but i’m proud of for being a light in the dark and in such a short moment. this tribute is deep and brings the qualities that Dipo lived to the fore.

    ADIEU NIGGYDIP!!!!

    Like

  8. Stumbled on this…what a tribute and even though I know not a thing about Niggydip I got a glimpse of his glorious being from this testament. This is what it will come down to for all of us one day we will all become people’s memories and a part of the past. Niggydip from what I read has left good memories and echoes of a shining past. God bless you bro I believe you are in a place with Gods own….shine on

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Wonderful tribute…. Angels continue to guide his way home. R.I.P Oladipupo Samson Egbedeyi aka Niggydip.. God bless his memories, repose his soul and give his loved ones fortitude to bear the irrepairable loss.

    Like

  10. What Niggy?
    Comport!!!!!
    Was my GUY… Got me into unilag by teaching me physics at Artic conference and helped me thru . . . What Niggy.
    Baba we celebrate u jhoor ooooh.

    Like

  11. I wish I met Niggydip. He was a gift, apparently and his death hurts especially as I didn’t have the opportunity to ‘experience’ his awesomeness. He lives on though…through the lives he’s impacted and that is enough for me. Rest in Peace Dipo. Shine on.

    Like

  12. HeartTouching Tribute.. we ought to reflect on our own lives and live like evryday will be our last thereby making everyday count. Most importantly impacting positively in d lives of people in every little way. We should apperciate and honour the people who impact in our own lives while they are still alive cos it just might b too late. Reston Oladipupo!

    Like

why not share your thoughts? please.

